Eiswerth, Garcia Earn Top Honors From PA Sportswriters

Eiswerth, Garcia Earn Top Honors From PA Sportswriters

By: Ed Weaver / December 31, 2023

South Williamsport head coach Chris Eiswerth and Southern Columbia's Garrett Garcia received top honors as the Pennsylvania Football Sportswriters released their All-State teams on Wednesday and Thursday, December 28-29.

Eiswerth was named the Class 1A Coach of the Year and Garcia earned Player of the Year honors in 2A. Eiswerth led the Mounties to an 11-3 record, winning the District IV Class 1A Championship and advancing to the PIAA semi-finals. Garcia helped spark the Tigers with a 28-yard run on their 99-yard drive in a 21-20 come-from-behind win over Westinghouse in the PIAA 2A Championships, securing their 7th consecutive state championship and their 14th title in school history.

District IV was also well represented on the All-State teams.

Class 1A

Running Back: Austin Johnson, Muncy; Ryan Casella, South Williamsport

Offensive Line: Chris Confer, South Williamsport

Linebacker: Hudson Ward, Canton

Defensive Back: Dylan Scheller, South Williamsport

Class 2A

Running Back: Garrett Garcia, Southern Columbia; Luke Blessing, Mount Carmel

Wide Receiver: Xavier Diaz, Mount Carmel

Tight End: Jacob Schultz, Mount Carmel

Offensive Line: Jed Feldmeier, Troy; Noah Shimko, Mount Carmel; Jude Bremigen, Southern Columbia

Athlete: Louden Murphy, Southern Columbia

Defensive Line: Max Johnson, Line Mountain; Isaac Carter, Southern Columbia

Linebacker: Dominic Fetterolf, Southern Columbia; Chandon Maurer, Line Mountain

Defensive Back: Riley Vanderpool, Towanda

Specialist: Brady Spalding, Troy

Class 3A

Quarterback: Tyler Gee, Loyalsock; Madden Patrick, Danville

Wide Receiver: Jaylen Andrews, Loyalsock; Aaron Johnson, Danville; Troy Dressler, Mifflinburg

Offensive Line: Justin Kutcher, Danville

Linebacker: Logan Bastian, Loyalsock; Cameron Kiersch, Danville

Athlete: Bo Sheptock, Danville

Class 4A

Running Back: Tucker Teats, Selinsgrove

Offensive Line: Collin Melhorn, Selinsgrove; Dyson Delaney, Jersey Shore

Athlete: Elijah Jordan, Jersey Shore

Defensive Line: Blake Hockenbroch, Shamokin

Linebacker: Bo Sechrist, Jersey Shore; Ethan Miller, Selinsgrove

Defensive Back: Caleb Hicks, Selinsgrove; Chase Pensyl, Shamokin

Ed Weaver Author Bio

Ed Weaver

Ed Weaver is the owner of Circle W Sports in Wellsboro, PA, is the Sports Director for The Home Page Network and the creator of WellsboroAthletics.com and WellsboroFootball.com. You can follow him on Twitter or friend him on Facebook.